One's destination is never a place but a new way of seeing things. -Henry Miller

A New Season

Roses at my favorite park in Granada

Spring is turning into summer, and my time here in Spain is coming to a close. I say goodbye to my beloved Granada a week from tomorrow, and it’s hard to wrap my mind around that fact.  Leaving Spain means a lot of things for me: unemployment (womp), returning to so many loved ones in the States, leaving loved ones I’ve accumulated in THIS country, and the start of chapter two of my post-grad life. It’s almost too much for my brain to handle.

I like to blame my cluttered mind for my inability to blog for the last couple of months. It’s hard to put what this experience has meant to me, and how its changed me, into a coherent thought. I do feel an undeniable urge to cling to Spain and this season for dear life. It’s so comfortable here. Why do things need to change?

I did have the opportunity and encouragement to reapply for my school here, but this application process began in December, a time when I was not certain that returning was what I wanted. And I still don’t really know. I have loved my job, but in my heart, I believe that everyone should use their passions and gifts to serve our community. I think that teaching has been a wonderful experience, but my gifts may be better suited for another position. The key problem with this idea is that for the first time in a long time, I am not positive of my next step, or my next location. One of my tutoring students asked me if I wanted to live in the U.S. for the rest of my life. I was taken aback by the question because I didn’t know the answer and still don’t. I had always assumed so, but I guess the beauty of life is that you can never anticipate where it will take you.

What I’ve come to conclude is that I need to admire my time in Spain as a really wonderful 9 months of my life filled with world-exploration and consequently, self-exploration. And as a new season in my life approaches, I need to take opportunities as they come to me, and listen to my intuition (how sentimental am I being right now?), as that has yet to fail me.

As per the suggestion of my friend Sarah, I started forming a list of all of things I love about the U.S. (besides my amazing amazing family and friends, of course) to get me excited about going back. Here it is, for your enjoyment. Please note that most of it involves food:

  • Reeses Cups
  • WaWa
  • Brunch
  • Bagels
  • Ethnic food
  • The amazing dairy farm ice cream place in my hometown
  • GREENness and outside loveliness (not a whole lot of that in Granada city)
  • Being able to fit my legs under all tables at all times
  • Speaking in Annie language, and people understanding
  • Driving
  • Dryers
  • Being able to watch TV shows online
  • Big cups of coffee
  • Pumpkin (I didn’t mention that before or anything)
  • Holiday traditions

It’s difficult,  because I have an equally long list of things I will really miss about Spain. And things I am glad I WON’T have to deal with in Spain anymore. It’s a give and take.

I appreciate those of you who have tuned in and read my blog during my time abroad. I’m definitely not done documenting things from my travels…did I mention that I’m going to GREECE for two weeks before I go back to the States? But it’s still to be decided as to whether or not I’ll keep writing on this when my life excitement starts to flatline. TBD, like so many other things at the moment.

Besos, my dear friends.

2 responses

  1. Maria Cheshire

    Well written, Annie! I am so proud of you for taking this leap of faith and am so happy that it was such a meaningful experience for you. 🙂

    May 28, 2011 at 7:01 pm

  2. HOLY CRAP! I can’t believe you’re going to be back in the states so soon, it doesn’t feel like you’ve been gone so long! Except of course, I was living abroad when you went abroad so really I’m not one to judge that. Enjoy Greece and we’ll chat when you’re statesideeeee!

    May 29, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

