One's destination is never a place but a new way of seeing things. -Henry Miller

My Life as a Greek Goddess

I was seriously living the dream in Greece. My dear friend, Molly, met me in Madrid (although, with a bit of travel drama between flights getting canceled and rescheduled, etc. Would it be one of my trips without a problem?) and we flew to Athens, then we took an 8-hour ferry to Santorini. Santorini is incredibly beautiful, but it was surprising to me how touristy it is, and just how many American honeymooners there are. Molly and I started to formulate a daily schedule…wake up, eat greek yogurt, go do something active/fun, come back to shower, read/nap, eat dinner, and go to bed.  We were old ladies. But it was so relaxing.

Greek salad, white wine, and eggplant salad. Delicious.

Just your everyday donkeys.

Postcards

Greek yogurt and honey

Oia

Our toes in the Mediterranean

Where the ships dock at the volcano

Molls and I on the top of the Santorini volcano. (my hair is flying in the wind)

Hot spring

Sunset at a wine tasting (picture one)

Same sunset, a little bit later

Santorini wine is very unique. There is no natural water on the island, so the grapes were grown very close to the ground in baskets so that the dew would water them.

Yummmm Baklava (I normally don't like flaky things...but I thoroughly enjoyed the real deal Greek baklava)

Fava Beans...a Santorini speciality!

Gyro 🙂

My beach day: In a nutshell.

Fira

The village by night

It was such a pleasure to be grounded in one country for 2 weeks and wholly get to experience the culture, food, people and energy. Posts on Naxos, our other island destination, pending.

Besos!

10 responses

  1. Alexa

    Annie, these pictures are absolutely amazing! A friend of mine just took a side trip to Greece from his program in Italy & absolutely loved it; now I see why! Greece is definitely moving it’s way up on my list of places to see. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    July 4, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    • Annie Blewett

      Thanks so much Alexa 🙂 🙂 And yes, if you do make a trip there, you’ll have to let me know so that I can give you recommendations of places to stay, things to do/eat, etc.

      July 4, 2011 at 2:38 pm

  2. Your pictures are so beautiful! I want to see aaalllll of them!

    July 5, 2011 at 5:32 am

    • Annie Blewett

      you got it dude!

      July 5, 2011 at 4:20 pm

  3. Beautiful pictures!!!!!!!! It looks surreal!

    July 5, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    • Annie Blewett

      Thanks Sarah!!

      July 5, 2011 at 3:52 pm

  4. Morgan Harper Nichols

    So I don’t know you, you don’t know me, but looking at this takes me back to 4 days I spent in Greece 2 years ago when I was backpacking through Europe for three weeks. I loved everything about that place and this brings back pleasant memories.

    July 5, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    • Annie Blewett

      Thanks Morgan! I’m glad you enjoyed my pictures, and I’m happy you stumbled upon my blog. 🙂

      July 5, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  5. Akin to the previous comment, i too randomly came across your site! beautiful pictures btw!

    August 1, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    • Annie Blewett

      Thanks so much! 🙂

      August 1, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

