One's destination is never a place but a new way of seeing things. -Henry Miller

A Christmas Reflection.

It’s been a really, really long time since I’ve written on my blog. I guess what happened is I moved back to the States and ran out of interesting things to say. You can’t blame me. But as 2011 comes to a close, I can’t help but use these holidays as a frame of reference for how much has truly changed in a year.

I moved from Spain back to my hometown to another state for a job. I started my first “real world” big girl job. I pay all my own bills now (I guess I did before, but now it’s more real). It’s strange. It certainly puts life into a whole different context.

A word has been following me around lately. That word is “hope.” Until recently, I hadn’t given this word much thought. However, this feeling, of hope, is far more important than I had ever realized. To be hopeful, in the face of adversity, is the only conceivable way to move forward in your life with optimism. This part of the year seems to  re-instill a sense of hope in people’s hearts.  For many people, that hopefulness comes from a feeling of connection to their religious beliefs; that Jesus was born into the world to give people hope.  For others, it’s the invisible clean slate of a new year. It’s the hope that in 2012, something spectacular with happen. That you will be closer to your best self. That you will be made new.

Another way I have been reflecting on “hope,” is through my new job. I work for a non-profit, and part of our mission statement is “building hope.”  Our clients have an opportunity with our program to change their lives. To change their children’s lives. This hopefulness inspires a lot of other changes as well; personal changes and professional changes. It’s difficult to quantify the power of hope, but having witnessed it first-hand in my job, and in my own life when I give myself the gift of hopefulness, it can mean everything.

“Man can live about forty days without food, about three days without water, about eight minutes without air, but only for one second without hope.”

I guess what I am getting at is this: Never lose hope. Good things fall apart sometimes.  But it will get better. There’s always something new to try and someone new to meet, if you choose to look at life that way. It’s something that I’m working on myself.

Merry Christmas (or Happy Holidays!), readers (If anyone still reads this…)!  I am thinking of all my friends and loved ones today, en route to my family, and feeling tremendously grateful for the opportunities this year has given me.

Besos!

6 responses

  1. Abi

    Yay, I’m so glad you wrote another blog post! Keep us updated with your life please!!
    Happy holidays 🙂

    December 25, 2011 at 11:59 pm

  2. Annie Blewett

    Thanks Abi!! Happy Holidays to you as well! Hey, did you all ever make it to Peru? I am planning a trip there this summer and am looking for travel suggestions. 🙂

    December 26, 2011 at 5:34 am

    • Abi

      Nope, I never did. Just Uruguay and Argentina. Sounds like fun though!

      January 2, 2012 at 1:20 am

  3. I still read this! i was a little confused to not see GREEK CATS on the screen and after a double and a triple take I was pleasantly surprised to see a new entry! This inspires me to write in my blog again too!! love you blewey!

    January 14, 2012 at 10:34 pm

  4. muna irmak

    hello Annie,
    I am from Turkey anf I plan to come to Spain to study.
    I’m a little scared and stressed I’d be very happy if you can share you knowledge with me 🙂

    August 19, 2012 at 2:37 am

    • Annie Blewett

      Hi there! I’d be happy to help…maybe you could ask me some specific questions?

      August 27, 2012 at 3:26 am

Leave a Reply

